Bob

Well, in case you didn't guess...my name is Bob.  I live in the St. Louis area.  This site is dedicated to the friends and family that I hang out with.  Meet some of my friends in the BobsPlanet Hall of Fame.  

I was born in St. Louis in the Winter of 1966 (geez…has it been that long?), and have lived in many places including Kent Washington, Austin Texas and Alberta Canada throughout my childhood.  My father was a general contractor, which forced us to travel quite a bit.   When I was about 13, my mother and father divorced and we settled down in Missouri where I attended Wentzville High School, which doesn’t even exist anymore.  I graduated in 1985 and after working a couple of weird jobs, soon after enlisted in the Air Force.  I went to 6 weeks basic training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio Texas, and then 8 weeks of technical school at Sheppard AFB in Wichita Falls Texas, training to be an aircraft mechanic.  I was eventually assigned to Holloman AFB, about 10 miles outside of Alamogordo, NM., to the 479th Component Repair Squadron, working for the aero-repair shop, fixing AT-38B aircraft, that were used in the LIFT (Lead in Fighter Training) program, teaching young pilots how to fly fighters. 
AT-38B Talon Fighter Trainer
                                                                                                                                                         
AT-38B, Holloman AFB, NM.

I worked at the 479th for about two years, and then transferred to the 49th Tactical Fighter Wing on the other side of the base, working on F-15 Eagles.  There I worked in the Inspection Section, inspecting for damage and worn components from the rigors of flying.
F-15 Eagle
                                                                                                                                                                            
F-15 Eagle

While in the Air Force, I attended a few different colleges in pursuit of my education. Among these are of course, Community College of the Air Force(CCAF), and New Mexico State University(NMSU). In 1989, I got out of the Air Force after four long years, and came back home, where I have been ever since.  After a short attempt to continue my career as an aircraft mechanic in 1989, only to find out that all of the major airlines and aircraft manufacturers were having difficulties and were laying off workers, and then working in various strange occupations like car sales and security work, I fell back on my second line of experience, computers.  In the Air Force, I worked on the computer systems there at the maintenance docks, and found out that I had a knack for it, so naturally, I saw it as a secondary career choice.  It turned out very well, as I have been working in the Information Technology field ever since. I continued college at Meremec College in St. Louis, studying Computer Science and Management, Information Systems
Bob
                       
                                                                                                                                                                                     Me with my homebuilt computer

After working for many years in the field as a systems technician, systems administrator, and finally a network engineer, I worked my way up through management and after leading some great teams, I landed a job working for the government, managing the Army's SDDC Systems Response Center, where I work today.

Through the years I have had my trials, and have been married and divorced twice, and had three kids along the way.

Stephanie is my oldest daughter.  She is 23.


Elicia is my second oldest at 19.

My son Adam is 10.